Coconut Oil / Bun Shapers / Great Sales

1.  Coconut Oil is one of the cheapest, easiest, and most natural ways to hydrate your skin, lips and hair.  Pick up a jar of natural organic unrefined coconut oil at your local grocery store (or health food store).  I store mine in the fridge and have been running to it like crazy.  I use Dr. Bronner’s coconut oil because it’s a fair trade product and it’s organic.

l_dr-0001http://www.vitaminshoppe.com/p/dr-bronner-coconut-oil-whole-kernel-14-fl-oz/dr-0001?sourceType=sc&source=FG&adGroup=40-60&keyword=DR-0001&cm_mmc=Google+Shopping-_-Product+Listing+Ads-_-40-60-_-DR-0001&gclid=CIPI0YDK470CFWuhOgod-nAAhA&gclsrc=aw.ds#.U023sFxZ2a4

 

I use it as a lip balm constantly and I have also been alternating between coconut oil and argan oil when it comes to what to add to my daily SPF15 facial moisturizer.  I always add one of the two.  I have to admit that lately it has been the coconut oil just because it smells so nice and reminds me of summer.  A little goes a long way- 1/4 to 1/2 tsp in with your daily facial moisturizer is more than enough.

In addition to lips and face, my hair has been reaping the rewards of my newfound love for coconut oil.  Rub a dime sized amount between your palms and smooth on to the ends of your hair.  Your ends will look shiny and healthy, and your hair will smell amazing.

On nights when I decide to braid my hair for loose waves in the morning, I unwrap my braids in the a.m. and add a dime-sized amount of coconut oil to my hands and work it delicately through my waves and the shine is amazing.  Sometimes when you braid your hair overnight it can look a little frizzy and coconut oil is the trick to adding incredible shine to those mermaid-like braid waves.  Try to concentrate the oil towards the ends and / or mid shaft.  You don’t want to add the coconut oil too close towards your scalp because this will cause your hair to look weighted and greasy.

 

2.  On a recent stop into Ricky’s to replenish my stash of Rosebud Salve I came across “bun shapers.”  I was a bit skeptical, but at less than $10 I figured I would give it a shot.  I have been envious of Kate Beckinsale’s ability to throw a thick gorgeous bun atop her head in such an effortless manner.  I have thick hair and, still, my bun’s circumference is laughable compared to Kate B’s.  Alas, I can now enter a bun contest opposite Kate Beckinsale!  I’m telling you, these bun shapers are game-changing.  I can not recommend these things enough.  If you are not lucky enough to have a Ricky’s in your neighborhood than fear not, you can always order these online.  I got an Extra large bun shaper and the brand is Capelli.  I see that they sell them online at amazon.  Trust me, you will be as obsessed as I am.  Side note, I have extremely long hair, so I would not get the Extra large bun shaper unless your hair falls past your bosom.  If your hair is medium to long I would stick with Large bun shapers.

$5.95 on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Capelli-New-York-Shaper-Natural/dp/B00IKTK3H8

Unknown-1

Careful Ms. Beckinsale….you have some hair competition on your hands….the battle of the buns…is upon us….

Unknownimages

3.  With Spring comes a plethora of sales and events.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, the website Stylish City has an amazing sample sale event calendar.  This week C. Wonder and Rachel Zoe are some of the featured sample sales in NYC for the week.  The site also alerts you to online sales and promotions.  Definitely check it out if you are in the mood to broaden your spring wardrobe without breaking the bank:  http://thestylishcity.com/sample-sales-calendar

 

J. Crew is having 50% of final sale items and 30% off sale items.  They have a really great inventory of cute shoes, dresses and jewelry.  This beautiful enamel bracelet ends up being $15 when the promotional sale code is applied!  https://www.jcrew.com/womens_category/jewelry/bracelets/PRD~A2603/99103321280/A2603.jsp?N=21+17+10060&Nbrd=J&Nloc=en&Nrpp=48&Npge=2&Nsrt=3&isFromSale=true&isSaleItem=true&isNewSearch=true

A2603_NA6129

I recently posted several spring dress picks and, so I was pleasantly surprised when I saw one of my picks drastically marked down on www.gilt.com!  It was priced at $268 on other sites but is $119 for the next day or two on gilt!  If you are not familiar with www.gilt.com then you should be.  It’s an amazing site offerrig flash sales on designer clothes, spa deals, restaurants etc.  Definitely sign up and check it out!

 

Leave a Reply

